Events & Activities



Friends of the Mississippi River is proud to host over 100 high-quality outings and events annually. To receive FMR event calendars in your inbox twice monthly, sign up for Mississippi Messages. We look forward to being in touch!

Title Event Date Location
'Make & take' rain barrel workshop - Just $35! [SOLD OUT] Tue, Aug 21 - 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM
Dakota County Fairgrounds Farmington
Summer work night at Ole Olson Park Tue, Aug 28 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Ole Olson Park Minneapolis
Upper Harbor Terminal community input meeting Tue, Aug 28 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board Headquarters Minneapolis
Lop sumac at Grey Cloud Dunes SNA Wed, Aug 29 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Grey Cloud Dunes SNA Cottage Grove
Plant native shrubs and lop fruiting buckthorn along the river gorge Thu, Sep 6 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Mississippi River Gorge along West River Parkway Minneapolis
Help restore Farmington's Rambling River Park Thu, Sep 13 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Rambling River Park Farmington
West Broadway Open Streets Sat, Sep 15 - 11:00 AM to 5:00 PM
West Broadway Avenue Minneapolis
Lop buckthorn and honeysuckle at the newly protected River Heights Park Tue, Sep 18 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
River Heights Park Inver Grove Heights
Plant shrubs and forbs near the rare oak savanna Wed, Sep 19 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Mississippi River Gorge along West River Parkway Minneapolis
Join us for An Evening Celebrating the Mississippi River Thu, Sep 20 - 5:30 PM to 8:30 PM
Aria Minneapolis
Collect native prairie seed at Heritage Village Park Sat, Sep 22 - 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM
Heritage Village Park Inver Grove Heights
Floodplain forest planting along Vermillion River's South Creek Tue, Sep 25 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Near South Creek Farmington
Prairie seed collection at the Sand Coulee SNA Sat, Sep 29 - 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM
Sand Coulee SNA Hastings
Oak woodland brush haul + lunch! Sat, Oct 6 - 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
3M's oak woodlands Cottage Grove
Pine Bend Bluffs Natural Area brush haul + celebration Sat, Oct 27 - 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Pine Bend Bluffs Inver Grove Heights