Events & Activities

FMR hosts public cleanups, hauls, pulls or plantings throughout the Twin Cities metro-area annually. No experience is required.

Most events take place on Dakota homelands.

Contact volunteer@fmr.org for more information about events nearest you. To receive the complete FMR event calendar in your inbox twice monthly, sign up for Mississippi Messages.

Event Title Date / Time Location
Join us at the annual river gorge Earth Day cleanup Sat, Apr 20 - 9:30 AM to 12:00 PM West River Parkway and 36th Street/44th Street, Minneapolis
Apply to be a 2024 ESI mentor for the summer Applications due Friday, May 3 by 5 p.m. Virtual and in-person
Tend the oak woodlands at the Hastings Sand Coulee SNA Thu, May 9 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM Hastings Sand Coulee Scientific and Natural Area
Invasive plant pull on Nicollet Island Sat, May 18 - 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM Nicollet Island, Minneapolis
Pick your project: Pledge to Pull garlic mustard or critical cut buckthorn at Crosby Farm Park Sun, May 19 - 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM Crosby Farm Regional Park, St. Paul
Garlic mustard pull at Vermillion River Linear Park Tue, May 21 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM Vermillion River Linear Park, Hastings
Pull garlic mustard at the river gorge sand flats Sat, May 25 - 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM Mississippi River Gorge Sand Flats, Minneapolis
Interactive presentations and outings for classes Winter and spring In your classroom or outside
LGBTQIA2S+ Pride demonstration box tending on Nicollet Island Tue, Jun 25 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM Nicollet Island, Minneapolis
An Evening Celebrating the Mississippi River Thu, Sep 26 - 6:00 PM Nicollet Island Pavilion, Minneapolis

Upcoming Events

Saturday, April 20, 2024 - 9:30am to 12:00pm
West River Parkway and 36th Street/44th Street, Minneapolis
Applications due Friday, May 3 by 5 p.m.
Virtual and in-person
Thursday, May 9, 2024 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Hastings Sand Coulee Scientific and Natural Area