State of the River Report 2016 Acknowledgements


Lark Weller — National Park Service/Mississippi National River and Recreation Area

Trevor A. Russell — Friends of the Mississippi River

Design and layout

Bob Spaulding

Teacher's Guide

Dr. Meg Cavalier — River’s Edge Academy

Project Funders

This report is made possible through the generous support of the McKnight Foundation, the Patrick and Aimee Butler Family Foundation, Mortenson Family Foundation, Capitol Region Watershed District, Minnehaha Creek Watershed District and the Mississippi Park Connection. These organizations are dedicated to helping protect and restore our waters, and we thank them for their support.

Project Advisors

This State of the River Report would not have been possible without the generous assistance of many individuals and organizations whose research and scientific expertise form the basis of the document. They have given many hours of their time to help us interpret and characterize a variety of river data, and we are deeply grateful to them for their support and cooperation.

Science Advisory Committee

• Pam Anderson — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• John Anfinson — National Park Service – Mississippi National River and Recreation Area
• Daniel Engstrom — St. Croix Watershed Research Station
• Steven Heiskary — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Kent Johnson — Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
• Sue Magdalene — St. Croix Watershed Research Station
• Shawn Schottler — St. Croix Watershed Research Station
• Faye Sleeper — University of Minnesota Water Resources Center

Technical Advisors and Agency Contributions

• Bill Arnold — University of Minnesota
• Brooke Asleson — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Austin Baldwin — United States Geological Survey
• Julia Dady — Minnesota Department of Health
• Mike Davis — Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
• Tannie Eshenaur — Minnesota Department of Health
• Mike Feist — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Mark Ferrey — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Christine Goepfert — National Parks Conservation Association
• Ted Gostomski — National Park Service
• Erik Herberg — Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
• Paul Hoff — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Byron Karns — National Park Service
• Rebecca Key — National Park Service
• Patricia McCann — Minnesota Department of Health
• Bruce Monson — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Phil Monson — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Rachel Olmanson — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Barbara Peichel — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Bill Route — National Park Service
• Casey Scott — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Glenn Skuta — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Rory Stierler — National Park Service — Mississippi National River and Recreation Area
• Joel Stiras — Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
• Judy Sventek — Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
• David Tollefson — Minnesota Department of Agriculture
• Bill VanRyswyk — Minnesota Department of Agriculture
• David Wall — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Hong Wang — Metropolitan Council Environmental Services
• Dennis Wasley — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
• Steven Weiss — Minnesota Pollution Control Agency


For more, see the State of the River Report navigation table of contents above right or, on smaller screens, below.

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, July 30, 2024 - 5:30pm to 8:00pm
Rotary Pavilion at Levee Park, Hastings
Saturday, August 3, 2024 - 9:00am to 2:00pm
Mississippi River Gorge, Minneapolis
New date: Saturday, August 10, 2024 at 5 p.m.
Hidden Falls Regional Park, St. Paul